play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of James & James

At James & James we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the car buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

James & James

James & James
5
4.9

Based on 105 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Dreadful - Silver 2014 Skoda Octavia estate

    By Stephen S on 03 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    Water pump fail within 48 hours of ownership. Recovered back to James & James for repair. Following this the car suffered from coolant loss. A further failed repair attempt followed with further coolant loss. Exercising my right to refund, they tried to apply a usage charge for less than 2 months of unreliable motoring of £1710, even the cheek to bill for valeting. This amount was challenged, the usage bill including days when I did not even have the car as it was at his yard being repaired, billing me for giving him a time to rectify the problems. With this in mind giving a further chance was a mistake. Following this, the reduced usage charge and refund was now subject to non-disclosure. A refund is a legal right and is NOT subject to any clause or condition that someone feels like attaching, this was also successfully challenged. Challenging all of this took over 2 months to be refunded. IMO: Avoid and keep communication in writing on record. Not off record on phone.

    Reply from James & James on 04/07/18

    As with all reviews written when someone feels aggrieved the facts can be somewhat clouded, Unfortunately the customers water pump did fail after 48 hours and was recovered and repaired within a further 48 hours, Six weeks later we received a call suggesting the car was losing water and returned for investigation where no fault could be found, After this the customer exercised his right to a refund and unfortunately didn't realise that this IS subject to a clause, This process did take nearly 2 months to resolve due to the customers refusal to respond to numerous emails & phone calls whereas this could have been concluded much sooner, The customer seems not to have kept a record of correspondences, Subsequently a refund has been given & he HAS paid a usage charge, I personally have been driving this car since its return with no fault occurring, As you can see from all our other reviews we pride ourselves on polite professional service as all our customers can concur, Thank you.


  • 5

    Five Star Service From James & James.

    By George B on 30 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    Saw car online. Looked really nice and just what I was looking for. Was a little concerned about the distance I had to travel to view the car, Newcastle upon Tyne to Bristol. Telephone call to Jason and he assured me the car was even better than the photos and he said I would not be disappointed if I flew down to view it. Flew down 2 days later. Jason picked me up from the airport and true to his word the car was just as described in fact it was better than described. Needless to say I bought it and drove it home that day.Cannot fault the impeccable service from Jason and gladly recommend James & James to all.


  • 5

    Highly recommend.

    By Kim R on 26 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    First class service. Very professional and helpful. Jason made sure the car was mechanically sound before collection and honest about a few other things like the electric windows and one of the rear parking sensors, making sure they all worked fine too. He also did all transfer paperwork which was one less thing to think about. I would highly recommend James and James to anyone wanting to buy a second hand car that has been thoroughly checked and serviced.


  • 5

    First Skoda Octavia

    By Jonathon S on 19 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    Was looking for a reliable estate car for a growing family. Came across a great looking Skoda Octavia 1.6 SE Buisness, DSG from James and James. Really pleased with my purchase, specially as I had never considered a Skoda before . Jason was a great individual, not pushy but knew his cars. I shall be going back to James and James for future purchases.


  • 5

    Great to do business With.

    By David T on 26 May 2018 | Verified purchase

    I visited the dealer on Tuesday afternoon to view the car, paid a deposit and picked it up on the Thursday. Throughout it all the dealer was friendly and came across as a genuine sort of man without any sales spiel or pressure. Great to do business with .


  • 5

    Excellent Service.

    By Luke T on 10 May 2018 | Verified purchase

    Great service from start to finish, called me promptly following me enquiring about a part/ex using the facility on Autotrader. Friendly and helpful on the phone, arranged a viewing at a time that suited me, vehicle was as described and wasn't at all pushy whilst viewing. Gave me what I wanted for my vehicle and had all the paperwork ready to make the whole transaction as smooth as possible, definitely recommend.


  • 5

    Highly recommended

    By Darren S on 27 April 2018 | Verified purchase

    Highly recommended. Went above and beyond to find the right spec car for me. Condition of car was very very good on collection and the whole process was seamless. Very good communication throughout. First time I have bought a car without looking at it first so I had to trust the company I bought it from. I chose the right company as the car is excellent so far. If you are looking to buy a Skoda VRS, James and James is the place to go. Thanks Darren


  • 5

    Brilliant, professional service, highly recommend

    By Rhodri G on 06 April 2018 | Verified purchase

    Jason sourced me the perfect car, a Skoda Octavia VRS estate. A quick call to confirm the spec and price i wanted to pay and a couple of weeks later i have the exact car i was looking for. Looks brand new lovely to drive and came with a years MOT. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a car in the VW group to give Jason a quick call as he is completely different to any other pushy sales type and just listens to what you actually want and need and goes out and gets exactly that. He couldn't have been more helpful if he tried. Will definitely go back to him in the future when i am looking for another car Thanks.


  • 5

    Absolutley brilliant service

    By Colm O on 22 March 2018 | Verified purchase

    Just got my Volkswagen CC off Jason in James&James and honestly couldn't be any happier. I am living in Ireland and from the very first call Jason was a pleasure to deal with. He made the process as simple as possible and was available on the phone or email any time I had a question. The car is absolutely stunning and I am delighted I dealt with Jason to get it. I will be recommending any of my family and friends to go to him. Having dealt with a few car "supermarkets" it was refreshing to deal with Jason as he takes an interst in the customer and pride in what he's selling. Needless to say I am 1 happy Irish man now!


  • 5

    Vrs skoda estate dsg in black high spec

    By Saghir C on 15 March 2018 | Verified purchase

    Firstly would like to say thanks to Jason excellent service from James and James cars lots of information given on history of car and had the car serviced with oil and filter change on dsg unit and full service with Skoda and even did the brake pads what can I say but huge thanks I know he had a lot of interest on car I traveled down from the north east to buy it with part exchange on mine very happy customer who is the proud owner of vrs with all the bells and whistles on it being top spec car 5 huge stars given would come down again in future to buy another car from James and James cars highly recommend them to buy your dream car