play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of James & James

At James & James we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the car buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

James & James

James & James
5
4.9

Based on 130 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Great car from a great guy ...

    By Steve S on 01 September 2018 | Verified purchase

    From start to finish the experience was faultless ! Jason is a lovely guy and a great person to buy a car from. The car was as described and you can see that he only try’s to pick the good ones to sell on. I traveled over 200 miles to collect and I’m very glad I did ! I wouldn’t have been able to get a car this good locally. (Top spec Volvo V40 lux ) You won’t go wrong to trust his judgment....


  • 5

    Great service

    By Matthew B on 25 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    Great service. Quick to respond to questions and enquiries. Viewed in the morning and drove away by the afternoon.


  • 5

    Excellent service at James and James

    By Carl K on 17 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    Jason provides an excellent unhurried no pressure buying experience, Cars are in lovely condition. Purchased a Passat estate, and i am very pleased. Many thanks, C. Webb


  • 5

    Very good family business

    By Allen C on 11 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    Car as described and very helpful made the long journey less stressful


  • 5

    Great customer service

    By Tracey S on 04 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    very helpful and kept me informed of the vehicle he was selling. A really good buy for my son as first car . Would recommend this dealer and would use again


  • 5

    Dreadful - Silver 2014 Skoda Octavia estate

    By Stephen S on 03 July 2018 | Verified purchase

    Water pump fail within 48 hours of ownership. Recovered back to James & James for repair. Following this the car suffered from coolant loss. A further failed repair attempt followed with further coolant loss. Exercising my right to refund, they tried to apply a usage charge for less than 2 months of unreliable motoring of £1710, even the cheek to bill for valeting. This amount was challenged, the usage bill including days when I did not even have the car as it was at his yard being repaired, billing me for giving him a time to rectify the problems. With this in mind giving a further chance was a mistake. Following this, the reduced usage charge and refund was now subject to non-disclosure. A refund is a legal right and is NOT subject to any clause or condition that someone feels like attaching, this was also successfully challenged. Challenging all of this took over 2 months to be refunded. IMO: Avoid and keep communication in writing on record. Not off record on phone.

    Reply from James & James on 04/07/18

    As with all reviews written when someone feels aggrieved the facts can be somewhat clouded, Unfortunately the customers water pump did fail after 48 hours and was recovered and repaired within a further 48 hours, Six weeks later we received a call suggesting the car was losing water and returned for investigation where no fault could be found, After this the customer exercised his right to a refund and unfortunately didn't realise that this IS subject to a clause, This process did take nearly 2 months to resolve due to the customers refusal to respond to numerous emails & phone calls whereas this could have been concluded much sooner, The customer seems not to have kept a record of correspondences, Subsequently a refund has been given & he HAS paid a usage charge, I personally have been driving this car since its return with no fault occurring, As you can see from all our other reviews we pride ourselves on polite professional service as all our customers can concur, Thank you.


  • 5

    Five Star Service From James & James.

    By George B on 30 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    Saw car online. Looked really nice and just what I was looking for. Was a little concerned about the distance I had to travel to view the car, Newcastle upon Tyne to Bristol. Telephone call to Jason and he assured me the car was even better than the photos and he said I would not be disappointed if I flew down to view it. Flew down 2 days later. Jason picked me up from the airport and true to his word the car was just as described in fact it was better than described. Needless to say I bought it and drove it home that day.Cannot fault the impeccable service from Jason and gladly recommend James & James to all.


  • 5

    Highly recommend.

    By Kim R on 26 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    First class service. Very professional and helpful. Jason made sure the car was mechanically sound before collection and honest about a few other things like the electric windows and one of the rear parking sensors, making sure they all worked fine too. He also did all transfer paperwork which was one less thing to think about. I would highly recommend James and James to anyone wanting to buy a second hand car that has been thoroughly checked and serviced.


  • 5

    First Skoda Octavia

    By Jonathon S on 19 June 2018 | Verified purchase

    Was looking for a reliable estate car for a growing family. Came across a great looking Skoda Octavia 1.6 SE Buisness, DSG from James and James. Really pleased with my purchase, specially as I had never considered a Skoda before . Jason was a great individual, not pushy but knew his cars. I shall be going back to James and James for future purchases.


  • 5

    Great to do business With.

    By David T on 26 May 2018 | Verified purchase

    I visited the dealer on Tuesday afternoon to view the car, paid a deposit and picked it up on the Thursday. Throughout it all the dealer was friendly and came across as a genuine sort of man without any sales spiel or pressure. Great to do business with .